«

»

Apr 12

Welcome to Freak Street

I received this book for free from ARC received from publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Welcome to Freak StreetMeet the Aliensons by KnifePacker
Series: Freak Street
Published by Scholastic Australia on 2008
Genres: fiction, humour, junior fiction
Pages: 92
Source: ARC received from publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

The Aliensons are just your average, everyday family . . . Yes, they come from Valvax-7, a planet far, far away. Yes, they have a one-eyed pet, Zog. Yes, Arlene Alienson starred on Galaxy Idol. And yes, their robot housekeeper-the Butloid 8000-is completely out of control! But that's nothing out of the ordinary, right? Will Arlene win a date with the gorgeous Naughty Boyz lead singer, Chad Cheesly? Or will the Aliensons' rampaging Butloid 8000 ruin her chances, and destroy the whole town?!

Freak St - The AliensonsWith a Simpson-esque appearance and four very difference nuclear families, the Freak Freak Street - The WizardsonsStreet series offers some light-hearted entertainment for confident young readers.

The first series of four books, each featuring a different Freak St family, was released in 2008 and a follow-up series of four, Freak St on Holidays, was released in April 2009.

The four Freak St families are The Zombiesons, The Aliensons, The Wizardsons and The Humansons. Each family has five members (mother, father, brother, sister and baby) and a pet.

Freak Street - The ZombiesonsBright, cartoonish illustrations complements fun storylines with text suitable for independent readers. Storylines are Freak Street - The Humansonssomewhat predictable, but nevertheless enjoyable for younger readers. Further information including games and downloads can be found at the Freak Street website.

Freak Street books should appeal to fans of Dav Pilkey’s Ricky Ricotta and Captain Underpants books.

Recommended for readers aged 6 – 9 years.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmailby feather

5 comments

Skip to comment form

  1. Lenore

    Haha – those do sound fun! The Zombiesons are my faves.

  2. Jo Bekis

    I love your illustrations, they look so much fun, very imaginative. I like and yes they are very very simpson style. Good work
    Jo Bekis

  3. Ashleigh lenac

    I love the way the do the writing and the background on the front of the book

  4. angus

    what shop can i buy freak street books

  5. Tahlia

    I love freak street.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

CommentLuv badge