Jul 02

Review: Our Australia series by Phil Kettle

I received this book for free from ARC received from publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Our Australia series by Phil KettleMildura by Phil Kettle
Series: Our Australia #1
Published by Australian Geographic on 1/9/2010
Genres: fiction, junior fiction
Pages: 128
Source: ARC received from publisher
Buy on Amazon

The Our Australia stories focus on a young Greek-Australian boy, Taha, who goes on a road trip with his Mum, visiting Australian regional towns and cities. On the way he learns about the people, history and geography of each place he visits. A mischievous young boy with a big imagination, Taha brings his destinations to life and has a lot of fun and laughs on his travels.Mildura is first stop for Taha and his Mum, who has just become an Australian citizen. There's plenty of fruit and sunshine in Mildura and there's plenty of fish too in the mighty Murray River! As well as fishing, Taha learns about Mildura's location, the region's Aboriginal custodians, and all about paddleboat captains, the Chaffey brothers and lots more about Mildura today.

This is a fun new series about Australian geography and culture for primary school kids. Taha is a fun character with a great sense of humour and an eye for interesting people and places as he travels around Australia with his mother in their campervan.

My older kids have read the first four books in this series and enjoyed them. There are some great facts included in the story as well as lots of great illustrations and photos of the places Taha visits. The format of the books is great – lots of variety with presentation of information and very visually appealing.

The first four books in the series are available now, with two additional titles to be published in both September and November. These books would be a great classroom resource and the Australian Geographic Education website has teacher resources for the series available.

I’m looking forward to the next four books, although I’m disappointed that the series is so short with only eight titles. I think it’s great that they avoid focusing on the major capital cities and instead feature some country towns and more remote areas, but there are so many great areas that missed out – including my hometown of Newcastle.

The first four titles in the series are:

  • Our Australia #1: Mildura (ISBN: 978-0-980710330-5, 128 pages)
  • Our Australia #2: Broken Hill (ISBN: 978-0-98071-331-2, 128 pages)
  • Our Australia #3: Longreach (ISBN: 978-0-98071-332-9, 128 pages)
  • Our Australia #4: Alice Springs (ISBN: 978-0-98071-333-6, 128 pages)
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmailby feather

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

CommentLuv badge